Letter From The Chairman

When the University Club of Washington, DC, established the Tewaaraton Award in 2000, its mission was to both honor the most outstanding male and female collegiate players, and to recognize the Native American heritage of the sport of lacrosse. As the Tewaaraton Foundation approaches our 19th year, it is clear that the connection between our current lacrosse heroes and the original warriors is one that distinguishes this Award from any other in sports.

The University Club, steeped in its own history, made careful acknowledgement of the games beginnings, most notable through its name, “Tewaaraton,” the word given by the Mohawk Nation of the Iroquois Confederacy to the sport we now call lacrosse. Since its founding, the Award has been endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, meaningful validation from the authorities of both the native era and modern era.

This year’s event will take place on Thursday, May 30th, at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, an ideal place to celebrate our game and its roots. The backdrop of the venue leaves a lasting impression on all who attend. US Lacrosse continues its long-term relationship with the Foundation and, as such, our scholarships are now appropriately called the US Lacrosse Tewaaraton Native American Scholarships.

This spring, we will present our 9th annual Tewaaraton Legends Awards to Karen Emas Borbee, Delaware and Tom Sears, University of North Carolina. We then present The Spirit of Tewaaraton Award to Ethel “Feffie” Barnhill.

We hope to have you join us on May 30 and hope you will continue to follow the news leading up to the event here on Tewaaraton.com.

On behalf of the Tewaaraton Foundation, and all of our valued partners, thank you for your support of our wonderful game of lacrosse—or as the Mohawk Nation called it, Tewaaraton.

Jeffrey T. Harvey
The Tewaaraton Foundation