Spirit of Tewaaraton

The 15th Spirit of Tewaaraton recipient is Alfred Jacques.

The Spirit of Tewaaraton is presented to an individual who has contributed to the sport of lacrosse in a way that reflects the spirit of the values and mission of the Tewaaraton Award.

“The Spirit and Legends Awards are vital parts of our program, as honoring the history and heritage of lacrosse is central to the mission of the Tewaaraton Foundation,” said Andy Phillips, President of the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Spirit honoree Alf Jacques of the Onondaga Turtle Clan is recognized as the world’s foremost traditional lacrosse stick carver. A decorated lacrosse player and coach, Jacques learned how to make wooden lacrosse sticks at age 12 from his father, Lou. Together, they used to produce more than 10,000 sticks a year, all made from hickory trees and hand-carved using traditional methods on the Onondaga Nation.

In 2014, Alfie joined his father in the USA Lacrosse Upstate New York Chapter Hall of Fame, and he frequently attends lacrosse events to showcase his talents and methods and teach others about the Native American traditions of lacrosse and stick-making. His wooden sticks are a symbol of the “Medicine Game’s” roots, helping to lift the Native American community’s spirits, and promoting health and strength. Jacques’ commitment to the craft of stick-making and the game of lacrosse has been a lifelong venture, and his dedication to preserving lacrosse culture and tradition truly embodies the Spirit of Tewaaraton.

“Alfie Jaques is a national treasure of the Haudenosaunee,” said Chief Oren Lyons, Faithkeeper of the Turtle Clan and the 2015 Spirit of Tewaaraton honoree. “His tireless dedication to his life’s work has earned him the recognition and respect he justly deserves.”

The Spirit of Tewaaraton award will be presented at the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on June 1, 2023, in Washington, D.C. 

Previous Winners

2022 Bill Belichick
2019 Ethel “Feffie” Barnhill
2018 Welles Crowther
2017 George Boiardi
2016 Tina Sloan Green
2015 Chief Oren Lyons
2014 Brendan Looney
2013 Bob Scott
2012 Richie Moran
2010 Dick Edell
2009 Roy D. Simmons, Jr.
2005 Sid Jamieson
2003 Diane M. Geppi-Aikens
2003 A.B. “Buzzy” Krongard