



For Immediate Release March 3, 2011

Contact:

Tricia BarryGreater Washington Sports Alliance 202-407-8563
tbarry@gwsportsalliance.com

2011 Tewaaraton Award Men's and Women's Watch List Announced Over 100 College Athletes Identified in the Race for Lacrosse's Top Honor

Washington, D.C. – Just as lacrosse teams across the nation have started their regular season, the Greater Washington Sports Alliance is pleased to announce the 2011 Tewaaraton Award watch list. This annual list is made up of the top lacrosse players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and highlights the early hopefuls for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award honors. All watch list nominees are carefully screened and identified by two Selection Committees, one committee for the male athletes and another committee for the female athletes which are comprised of college coaches. The watch list will eventually be whittled down three more times until the top ten male and female Tewaaraton Award Finalists are named in May of 2011.

"We are thrilled to announce this year's watch list just as the 2011 season is getting underway," said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. "The selection committees have done an outstanding job at choosing the top contenders for the Tewaaraton Award across the country. This year's list represents 47 different educational institutions from over 17 conferences and 48 of these athletes are repeat nominees from last year."

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 by The University Club of Washington, DC and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is awarded annually to the NCAA male and female lacrosse players of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award event is set to recognize the Year of the Tuscarora.

The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historical Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at www.TewaaratonAward.org.

Official Men's 2011 Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Stefan Bauer, Lafayette College Peter Baum, Colgate University Billy Bitter, University of North Carolina

Chris Bocklet, University of North Carolin

Jeremy Boltus, United States Military Academy

Sam Bradman, Salisbury University Shamel Bratton, University of Virginia

Zach Brenneman, University of Notre Dame

Jay Card, Hofstra University

Grant Catalino, University of Maryland Matt Chadderdon, Le Moyne College Jake Clarke, Bucknell University

Tom Compitello, Stony Brook University

CJ Costabile, Duke University

Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University Jimmy Dailey, Stevenson University

Chris DeLuca, State University of New York

Cortland

Jimmy Dunster, University of North Carolina

David Earl, University of Notre Dame Barney Ehrmann, Georgetown University

Peter Fallon, Brown University Brian Farrell, University of Maryland

Tyler Fiorito, Princeton University

Ryan Flanagan, University of North Carolina

John Galloway, Syracuse University Dean Gibbons, Harvard University

Matt Gibson, Yale University

Bill Henderson, United States Military Academy

DJ Hessler, Tufts University

Dan Hostetler, Georgetown University Zach Howell, Duke University

Brett Hughes, University of Pennsylvania Brian Karalunas, Villanova University Stephen Keogh, Syracuse University

John Lade, Syracuse University Jamie Lincoln, Hofstra University

Matt Mackrides, Pennsylvania State University

Mark Manos, Drexel University
JoJo Marasco, Syracuse University
Kiel Matisz, Robert Morris University
Jack McBride, Princeton University
Jordan McBride, Stony Brook University

Peter Mezzanotte, Towson University Rickey Mirabito, Georgetown University

Rob Pannell, Cornell University
Tom Perini, Lafayette College
Adam Rand, Stony Brook University

Kevin Ridgway, University of Notre Dame Brett Schmidt, University of Maryland

Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia Charlie Streep, Bucknell University

Jeremy Thompson, Syracuse University Justin Tuma, Roanoke College

Justin Turri, Duke University

Chad Wiedmaier, Princeton University Kyle Wharton, Johns Hopkins University

Joel White, Syracuse University

Ryan Young, University of Maryland

Official Women's 2011 Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison University Kelly Barnes, Georgetown University

Shaylyn Blaney, University of Notre Dame

Sarah Bray, Hamilton College

Erin Brennan, University of Pennsylvania

Sarah Bullard, Duke University Ally Carey, Vanderbilt University

Kat Collins, Dartmouth University Kitty Cullen, University of Florida

Brittany Dipper, University of Maryland Jackie Doherty, University of Notre Dame

Corey Donohoe, University of North Carolina

Liz Downs, University of Virginia

Maggie Dunbar, Pennsylvania State University

Lauren Dykstra, Lehigh University Bergan Foley, University of Louisville Alex Frank, Northwestern University Julie Gardner, University of Virginia

Grace Gavin, Loyola University, Maryland Giulia Giordano, University of Pennsylvania

Grace Golden, William and Mary Katie Hertsch, Hofstra University Liz Hogan, Syracuse University

Mia Hurrin, University of North Carolina

Kristin Igoe, Boston College

Alison Jaeger, The College of New Jersey Karri Ellen Johnson, University of Maryland

Sarah Jonson, William and Mary Christie Kaestner, Duke University Jordyn Kirr, Georgetown University Tee Ladouceur, Syracuse University

Mary Kate Lomady, James Madison University

Logan McCraw, Georgetown University Laura Merrifield, University of Maryland Greta Meyer, Dartmouth University Sarah Mollison, University of Maryland

Ashley Olen, C.W. Post

Claire Petersen, Adelphi University

Abby Rehfuss, Loyola University, Maryland

Lauren Schmidt, Stanford University

Katie Schwarzmann, University of Maryland Shannon Smith, Northwestern University

Jessi Steinberg, Cornell University Kat Thomas, Duke University

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern University Erin Tochihara, Princeton University

Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse University Laura Zimmerman, University of North Carolina

About The Tewaaraton Award:

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation talking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:

Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance's mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit www.gwsportsalliance.com.