

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

# ALBANY'S LYLE THOMPSON, MARYLAND'S TAYLOR CUMMINGS NAMED 2015 TEWAARATON AWARD WINNERS

**WASHINGTON, May 28, 2015** – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced University at Albany attackman Lyle Thompson and University of Maryland midfielder Taylor Cummings as the winners of the 15th annual Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States.

A finalist for the third consecutive year, Albany's **Lyle Thompson** is the first men's repeat winner in the history of the Tewaaraton Award. The senior attackman from Onondaga Nation, N.Y., who last year shared the Tewaaraton with brother Miles in 2014, led Albany's top-ranked offense to the America East regular season and Tournament titles, earning his third consecutive conference Player of the Year award and Most Outstanding Player of the America East Tournament. Thompson led NCAA Division I with 6.37 points per game, 121 points and 69 assists.

Thompson's 121 points were second best in NCAA history, trailing only his own mark of 128 points set in 2014. He was named to the USILA All-America first team for the third time and earned the USILA's Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award as the nation's most outstanding player for a second consecutive season. On April 14, he passed 2013 Tewaaraton winner Rob Pannell (354 points) as the all-time leading scorer in NCAA Division I men's lacrosse, and he ended his career with exactly 400 points. Lyle is the third winner from the America East Conference, also including Doug Shanahan (Hofstra, 2001).

The five men's finalists were University of Denver attackman Wesley Berg, Duke University midfielder Myles Jones, University of Notre Dame attackman Matt Kavanagh, Syracuse University attackman Kevin Rice, and Thompson.

Reigning Tewaaraton winner and NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player **Taylor Cummings** helped Maryland capture a second consecutive national championship, leading the Terrapins with 100 points, 37 assists, 41 ground balls, 143 draw controls and 35 caused turnovers. The junior from Ellicott City, Md., earned the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year award and was named all-conference for a third time as the Terrapins earned the top seed in the NCAA tournament. She also was named to the IWLCA All-America first team for the third time. Cummings' per game averages for points, ground balls, draw controls and caused turnovers were tops in the Big Ten, and she ranked first in the nation in points and fifth in draw controls. Cummings is one of four players to win the Tewaaraton Award in consecutive seasons, joining Kristen Kjellman (2006, 2007), Hannah Nielsen (2008, 2009) and Katie Schwarzmann (2012, 2013). She is Maryland's sixth Tewaaraton winner, joining Jen Adams (2001), Caitlyn McFadden (2010), Schwarzmann (2012, 2013), and is the first winner from the Big Ten Conference. Maryland players have won five of the last six women's Tewaaraton Awards.

The five women's finalists were Cummings, University of Florida midfielder Shannon Gilroy, Boston College midfielder Sarah Mannelly, University of Notre Dame defender Barbara Sullivan and Syracuse University attacker Kayla Treanor.

"These are two special players who join one another on stage again this year and enter rare company as repeat recipients," said Jeffrey T. Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "Taylor Cummings met every challenge this year and led her team to a championship with great determination. Lyle joins her as the first men's repeat winner after another record-setting season and leading his team deep into the playoffs. We are proud to recognize these wonderful individuals who represent our Award and the sport so well."

Finalists were selected from a pool of 25 men's and 25 women's nominees. The selection committees are comprised of 15 men's and 14 women's current college coaches, and are chaired by National Lacrosse Hall of Fame coaches Jack Emmer (men's) and Feffie Barnhill (women's).

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, visit <u>Tewaaraton.com</u>. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at <u>Facebook.com/Tewaaraton</u>, <u>Twitter.com/Tewaaraton</u> and <u>Instagram.com/Tewaaraton</u>.

### **About The Tewaaraton Foundation**

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage and is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse. The Tewaaraton Foundation is a non-profit that defines the mission and upholds the integrity of The Tewaaraton Award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit Tewaaraton.com.

### About Under Armour, Inc.

Under Armour (NYSE: UA), the originator of performance footwear, apparel and equipment, revolutionized how athletes across the world dress. Designed to make all athletes better, the brand's innovative products are sold worldwide to athletes at all levels. The Under Armour Connected Fitness<sup>™</sup> platform powers the world's largest digital health and fitness community through a suite of applications: UA Record, MapMyFitness, Endomondo and MyFitnessPal. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Maryland. For further information, please visit the Company's website at www.uabiz.com.

###

## Media Contact:

Sarah Aschenbach The Tewaaraton Foundation sarah@tewaaraton.com (202) 255-1485

Lane Errington The Tewaaraton Foundation lerrington@uslacrosse.org 410.235.6882 ext. #126