

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TEWAARATON AWARD NOMINEES ANNOUNCED

WASHINGTON, April 25, 2014 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award men's and women's nominees, presented by Panama Jack. Twenty-seven women and 28 men were selected as nominees, from which the 14th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finalists (five women, five men) will be selected and honored May 29, 2014, in Washington, D.C.

The men's award nominees include players from 18 schools, including 2013 finalists Tom Schreiber (Princeton) and Lyle Thompson (Albany), as well as representatives from 14 of the top 20 teams in the April 21 USILA Coaches Poll. Eight schools had two or more players nominated, with Duke and Loyola each receiving three. Two men's nominees were added in this round – Deemer Class and Myles Jones, both sophomore midfielders from Duke.

Men's nominees are as follows:

Niko Amato, Maryland - Sr., G Wesley Berg, Denver - Jr., A Connor Buczek, Cornell - Jr., M Mike Chanenchuk, Marvland - Sr., M Deemer Class, Duke - Soph., M Mark Cockerton, Virginia - Sr., A Joe Fletcher, Loyola - Sr., D John Glesener, Army - Jr., A Myles Jones, Duke - Soph., M Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame - Soph., A Jesse King, Ohio State - Jr., M John LoCascio, Villanova - Sr., LSM/D Kevin Massa, Bryant - Jr., F/O Kieran McArdle, St. John's - Sr., A Ben McIntosh, Drexel - Sr., M Scott McWilliams, Virginia - Sr., D Jeremy Noble, Denver - Sr., M Nikko Pontrello, Loyola - Jr., A Kevin Rice, Syracuse - Jr., A Joey Sankey, North Carolina - Jr., A Tom Schreiber, Princeton - Sr., M Randy Staats, Syracuse - Jr., A/M Wells Stanwick, Hopkins - Jr., A Lyle Thompson, Albany - Jr., A Miles Thompson, Albany - Sr., A Gunnar Waldt, Bryant - Soph., G Justin Ward, Loyola - Sr., A Jordan Wolf, Duke - Sr., A

The women's award nominees include players from 17 schools, including 2013 finalist Alyssa Murray (Syracuse) and representatives from 15 of the top 20 teams in the April 21 IWLCA Coaches Poll. Seven schools had two or more players nominated, with Maryland earning an NCAA best four nominations.

Women's nominees are as follows:

Bridget Bianco, Northwestern - Jr., G Nikki Boltja, Louisville - Sr., A Frankie Caridi, Stony Brook - Sr., G Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State - Jr., A Taylor Cummings, Maryland - Soph., M Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Sr., A Megan Douty, Maryland - Jr., D Lucy Ferguson, Penn - Jr., G Abbey Friend, North Carolina - Sr., A Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Jr., A Brooke Griffin, Maryland - Jr., A Hannah Hook, Denver - Sr., G Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern - Sr., A Meg Markham, Penn - Jr., D Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Jr., A Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Jr., M Kaylin Morissette, Louisville - Soph., M Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Sr., A Marlee Paton, Loyola - Sr., A/M Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Jr., M Sloane Serpe, North Carolina - Sr., D Jaclyn Sileo, LIU Post - Sr., A Margaret Smith, Notre Dame - Sr., M/D Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Jr., A Courtney Swan, Virginia - Jr., A Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Soph., A Taylor Virden, Duke - Sr., D

Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced May 8 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men's and women's watch lists were announced Feb. 27, with additions made March 20 and April 10, and were ultimately comprised of 66 men's players and 58 women's players. The selection committees are comprised of 11 men's and 11 women's current and former coaches.

"We congratulate these elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year's finalists next month."

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, please visit <u>www.tewaaraton.com</u>. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at <u>www.facebook.com/Tewaaraton</u> and <u>www.twitter.com/tewaaraton</u>.

About the Tewaaraton Foundation

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents

two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about the Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit www.tewaaraton.com

About Panama Jack

Panama Jack is an international company that has built a powerful brand and loyal following with product offerings synonymous with a carefree lifestyle. Its offerings include suncare products, eyewear, apparel, headwear, footwear and beach accessories. The brand is continuing to expand its presence through product launches that bring its relaxed lifestyle into people's daily lives. Introduced in 2010 and 2011, Panama Jack Beach Cruisers and the Panama Jack Home and Outdoor Collections provide consumers with even more freedom to enjoy what's most meaningful to them and their families. In addition, 2011 marked the opening of the first of several Panama Jack retail stores at top travel destinations. Founded in 1974 and based in Orlando, Fla., Panama Jack is celebrating 40 years in 2014 with the opening of a new Home Showroom in High Point, N.C., and additional launches in multiple product categories. To learn more, please visit www.panamajack.com

#

Media Contact

Sarah Aschenbach The Tewaaraton Foundation sarah@tewaaraton.com 202.255.1485

Lane Errington The Tewaaraton Foundation lerrington@uslacrosse.org 410-235-6882 x126