

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TEWAARATON AWARD ANNOUNCES 25 MEN'S AND 25 WOMEN'S 2019 NOMINEES

WASHINGTON, D.C. April 25 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the men's and women's nominees for the 2019 Tewaaraton Award. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

"This is a remarkable accomplishment for these student-athletes," said Jeffrey Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. "The Foundation and its board congratulate these talented players and their respective teams for being recognized by the Selection Committees as 2019 Tewaaraton Nominees."

Five men's and five women's finalists will be selected from these groups, announced on Thursday, May 9 and invited to the 19th Annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on Thursday, May 30 in Washington, D.C. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

The men's award nominees include players from 19 different schools, including 2018 finalist Pat Spencer (Loyola). In all, 10 players return from last year's list of nominees.

25 men's nominees:

Dox Aitken, Virginia - Jr., Midfield Grant Ament, Penn State - Jr., Attack Jared Bernhardt, Maryland - Jr., Attack Daniel Bucaro, Georgetown - Sr., Attack Bryan Costabile, Notre Dame - Jr., Midfield JT Giles-Harris, Duke - Jr., Defense Zach Goodrich, Towson - Sr., Midfield Chris Gray, Boston University - Soph., Attack TD Ierlan, Yale - Jr., Face Off Michael Kraus, Virginia - Jr., Attack Simon Mathias, Pennsylvania - Sr., Attack Nick Mellen, Syracuse - Jr., Defense Jackson Morrill, Yale - Jr., Attack Asher Nolting, High Point - Soph., Attack Mac O'Keefe, Penn State - Jr., Attack Isaac Paparo, UMass - Sr., Defense Brad Smith, Duke - Sr., Midfield Michael Sowers, Princeton - Jr., Attack Patrick Spencer, Loyola - Sr., Attack Johnny Surdick, Army - Sr., Defense Jeff Teat, Cornell - Jr., Attack Ryan Terefenko, Ohio State - Jr., Midfield Cade Van Raaphorst, Duke - Sr., Defense Ethan Walker, Denver - Jr., Attack Alex Woodall, Towson - Sr., Face Off

This year's list of women's nominees features players from 17 different schools, led by Boston College and University of Maryland with four each. Returning this year is 2018 Tewaaraton winner Sam Apuzzo (Boston College). In all, eight players return from the 2018 list of nominees.

25 women's nominees:

Andie Aldave, Notre Dame - Soph., Midfield Samantha Apuzzo, Boston College - Sr., Attack Dempsey Arsenault, Boston College - Sr., Midfield Julia Braig, Maryland - Sr., Defense Elizabeth George, Princeton - Sr., Attack Samantha Giacolone, Notre Dame - Sr., Goalie Jen Giles, Maryland - Sr., Midfield Kali Hartshorn, Maryland - Jr., Attack Emily Hawryschuk, Syracuse - Jr., Attack Olivia Jenner, Duke - Sr., Attack Ally Kennedy, Stony Brook - Jr., Midfield Kenzie Kent, Boston College - Graduate, Attack Kelly Larkin, Navy - Jr., Attack Selena Lasota, Northwestern - Sr., Attack Elizabeth Miller, Boston College - Sr., Defense Taylor Moreno, North Carolina - Soph., Goalie Sammy Mueller, Virginia - Jr., Midfield Jamie Ortega, North Carolina - Soph., Attack Lindsey Ronbeck, Florida - Sr., Attack Gabby Rosenzweig, Pennsylvania - Jr., Attack Livy Rosenzweig, Loyola - Soph., Attack Caroline Sdanowich, James Madison - Sr., Defense Mira Shane, Michigan - Sr., Goalie Miranda Stinson, Colorado - Sr., Attack Megan Taylor, Maryland - Sr., Goalie

This year's initial Tewaaraton Watch Lists were announced Feb. 28 and included the top 50 men's and women's college lacrosse players in the country. Two rounds of additions to the Watch Lists were announced, on March 21 and April 11.

The five men's and five women's finalists will be announced on Thursday, May 9 at a special reception at the University Club of Washington, D.C. For information on attended this exciting event, please visit <u>https://UCLUBDC.givesmart.com</u>

On May 30th, the finalists will be honored and the winners will be revealed at the 19th Annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, DC. For information on attending this year's ceremony, please visit <u>https://TEWAARATON.givesmart.com</u>

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation or to attend any of these exciting events, visit <u>tewaaraton.com</u>. Please like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at <u>facebook.com/tewaaraton</u>, <u>twitter.com/tewaaraton</u> and <u>instagram.com/tewaaraton</u>.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

The Tewaaraton Foundation is a 501c3 with a mission to honor the Native American heritage of the game of lacrosse through its annual award, scholarships and educational content. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The award is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse. The Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage and was founded at The University Club of Washington DC.

###

Media Contact Sarah Aschenbach The Tewaaraton Foundation sarah@tewaaraton.com 202.255.1485