

SPORTS ALLIANCE

For Immediate Release

Contact:

Ona Madonia
Greater Washington Sports Alliance
202-857-5996
omadonia@gwsportsalliance.com

The Sports Alliance Awarded License for Tewaaraton Award

Collegiate lacrosse's highest honor will be presented at the Native American Museum

Washington, D.C. –Today the Greater Washington Sports Alliance announced a five year license agreement to host the Tewaaraton Awards. The Tewaaraton Award is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is annually awarded to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse player of the year. The award will be presented on June 3rd, 2010 at the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. The National Museum of the American Indian is the sixteenth Smithsonian Institution, and the first national museum which is dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of life, languages, literature, and arts of Native Americans.

Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance recently stated "We are extremely excited to be given the opportunity to continue to honor the roots of lacrosse through hosting this event at the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian. Lacrosse is one of the fastest growing sports, not only in the United States but around the world. It is with great admiration for this sport that we are eager to take part in honoring those which have achieved great things in this game with such tradition."

The University Club tributes the Native American heritage of lacrosse in the name of its trophy: "Tewaaraton," which is the Mohawk name for the game and the progenitor of present day lacrosse. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and the 2010 Tewaaraton Award will be the "Year of the Seneca".

"The University Club of Washington D.C. has successfully hosted the Tewaaraton Award for the past nine years. Additionally, it has effectively built a coalition of supporters in both the Lacrosse circles and the Native American Community", said **Peter Goldman**, President of the University Club. Players are nominated for the award by coaches from all three NCAA divisions during the collegiate season. At the conclusion of the season the selection committees meet to pick the top five male and female finalists. The finalists are then invited to the Awards Banquet, where the Tewaaraton trophy winners are announced.

"This is a great step forward for the Tewaaraton as it enters its 10th year. Furthermore, this acknowledges the leadership of The University Club and the Greater Washington Sports Alliance

and solidifies their continued commitment to the sport of Lacrosse. This is an ideal partnership for both." said **Goldman.**

In addition to recognizing the top men's and women's collegiate lacrosse players, the Tewaaraton Award also recognizes the High School All-Tewaaraton team for both boys and girls lacrosse. This is a regional team which is comprised of the best players from both private and public schools in the Maryland, D.C., and Virginia area.

At the ceremony, awards for the top Native American High School boys and girls player of the year are also announced and each are awarded with a collegiate scholarship. This is a national award and requires the winner to be of Native American decent.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:

Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance's mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit www.gwsportsalliance.com.