



For Immediate Release May 13, 2011 **Contact:**

Hannah Strickland 202-407-8577 hstrickland@gwsportsalliance.com

2011 Men's and Women's Tewaaraton Finalists Announced

Award Celebrates Eleven Year Anniversary on June 2nd

Washington, D.C. – The Greater Washington Sports Alliance and The University Club of Washington, DC are proud to announce the 2011 Men's and Women's Tewaaraton Finalists. The Tewaaraton Award is presented to the most outstanding men's and women's collegiate lacrosse player as determined by two selection committees, consisting of collegiate coaches throughout all divisions of the sport.

The selection process began with a list of over 100 of the nation's top men's and women's collegiate players, which was then narrowed down to a selective list of more than 50. Of these, ten have been named as finalists, five men and five women, of which only two will be able to walk away with the sport's top honor.

"I truly believe that each of these finalists has showcased the ability to step forward and claim the Tewaaraton Award as their own this year. As I have stated throughout the season, the selection committees have done an extraordinary job at selecting the top contenders battling for this year's award. Everyone is welcome to come out and see which of these finalist has stepped forward to claim their place in history at the June 2nd Award Ceremony" stated Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance.

Official Men's 2011 Tewaaraton Award Finalists

Jeremy Boltus, United States Military Academy - Senior (Attack), Baldwinsville, N.Y.

John Galloway, Syracuse University – Senior (Goal), Syracuse, N.Y.

Rob Pannell, Cornell University – Junior (Attack), Smithtown, N.Y.

Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia – Junior (Attack), Baltimore, M.D.

Joel White, Syracuse University - Senior (Defensive Midfield), Cortland, N.Y.

--NEXT--

Official Women's 2011 Tewaaraton Award Finalists

Grace Gavin, Loyola University – Senior (Midfield/Attack), Baltimore, M.D. Emma Hamm, Duke University – Junior (Midfield/Attack), Wayne, P.A. Sarah Mollison, University of Maryland – Senior (Attack), Melbourne, Australia Katie Schwarzmann, University of Maryland – Sophomore (Midfield), Sykesville, M.D. Shannon Smith, Northwestern University – Junior (Midfield/Attack), West Babylon, N.Y.

The two winners of the 11th Annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented at a ceremony on Thursday, June 2nd at the Warner Theatre. For more information please visit www.tewaaratonaward.org.

About The Tewaaraton Award:

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation taking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Trophy is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field. <u>www.tewaaratonaward.org</u>.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:

Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance's mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit www.gwsportsalliance.com.

-###-