



For Immediate Release May 26, 2010

Contact:

Ona Madonia Greater Washington Sports Alliance 202-857-5996 omadonia@gwsportsalliance.com

The Greater Washington Sports Alliance Announces the Baltimore/Washington All-Tewaaraton High School Boys and Girls Teams presented by Toyota

Washington, D.C. – The 2010 Baltimore/Washington All-Tewaaraton High School Boys and Girls Teams have been announced by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. Now in its 7th year, the All-Tewaaraton teams are comprised of boys and girls from the Baltimore/Washington Region who have been assessed for their performance on the field by two Selection Committees comprised of high school coaches in the Baltimore/Washington region.

"Each and every one of these promising athletes should be proud of being named to this year's Baltimore/Washington All-Tewaaraton High School Team. It is such an inspiration for me to know how hard these young individuals have worked and I look forward to congratulating all of them at the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on June 3rd," stated Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance.

The 10th Annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held at the National Museum of the American Indian on June 3rd. The Tewaaraton Award annually recognizes the most outstanding men's and women's collegiate lacrosse players in the country. There is still availability for those wishing to attend the 2010 Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. For more information please visit www.tewaaratonaward.org.

Official Boy's 2010 All-Tewaaraton High School Team presented by Toyota

Andrew Barton	St. Paul's School
Emmett Cahill	Loyola Blakefield High School
Brian Cooper	Archbishop Spalding High School
Tyler Frederick	McDonogh School
Bobby Gribbin	Georgetown Preparatory School
Will Joyce	Landon School
Chris May	Gonzaga College High School
Joe Meurer	McDonogh School
Robert Posniewski	Georgetown Preparatory School
Pat Powderly	St. Paul's School
Wells Stanwick	The Boys' Latin School of MD

Official Girl's 2010 All-Tewaaraton High School Team presented by Toyota

Mackenzie Cyr	Winters Mill High School
Elizabeth Dunwoody	Chantilly High School
Brooke Griffin	South River High School
Paige Hanson	Bryn Mawr School
Kelsey Horton	St. Stephen's & St. Agnes
Brooks Lawler	McDonogh School
Lyndsey Munoz	St. Mary's High School
Caroline Seats	Roland Park Country School
Molly Shawhan	Our Lady of Good Counsel High School
Covie Stanwick	Notre Dame Preparatory High School
Courtney Tomchik	Broadneck High School
Taylor Virden	McDonogh School

About The Tewaaraton Award:

The Tewaaraton Award was founded by the University Club of Washington DC in August, 2000 to annually recognize the most outstanding men's and women's collegiate lacrosse players and to symbolize lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American history. The word "Tewaaraton" is the name given by the Iroquois Confederacy for the game now called lacrosse. Each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Trophy is the pre-eminent award in lacrosse which also recognizes a Boys and Girls Baltimore/Washington All-Tewaaraton teams and provides scholarships to Native American youth from the Iroquois Confederacy.

About The University Club of the City of Washington, DC:

Established in 1904 during the tenure of William Howard Taft, the Club's first President and later the President of the United States, the membership is a diverse mix of professional, business and government leaders. The Club's mission is to provide members and their families: congenial social gatherings, good fellowship, excellent dining, guest rooms, athletics, a rich variety of cultural, international and educational programs activities, and other services to enhance health, wellness, intellectual growth and fitness within the Club's superbly maintained and expanded historic Clubhouse.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:

Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission. The Sports Alliance's mission is to create economic stimulus and civic pride by initiating and supporting the successful execution of sporting events in Greater Washington, D.C. For more information please visit www.gwsportsalliance.com.