

SPORTS ALLIANCE

For Immediate Release April 15, 2010

Contact:

Ona Madonia
Greater Washington Sports Alliance
202-857-5996
omadonia@gwsportsalliance.com

2010 Tewaaraton Men's and Women's Nominees Announced

Washington, D.C. – With only 51 days left before the 2010 Tewaaraton Award is presented to the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse players, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance is pleased to announce this year's nominees.

With what started as a list of over 100 of the nation's top men's and women's collegiate players is now a list of fewer than 50. Of these nominees, only ten will be named as finalists; five men and five women in which only two will walk away with the sport's top honor. All Tewaaraton nominees are screened and selected by two Selection Committees. The Selection Committees are comprised of collegiate coaches, one committee for the men and one committee for the women.

"The atmosphere around the Tewaaraton this year has been exhilarating. The committees have done an exceptional job at selecting the top contenders battling for this year's award. I stated earlier this season that I believed we were in store for an electrifying and intense season, and that statement has now become a reality. Every year the Tewaaraton Award grows in stature and prestige within the lacrosse community and being able to be part of this growth has been an incredible experience for my organization," stated Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse player of the vear. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and is the "Year of the Seneca".

The award will be presented on June 3rd, 2010 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. For additional information on the award or to purchase tickets please visit: www.tewaaratonaward.org.

Official Men's 2010 Tewaaraton Award Nominees

Drew Bezek, LeMoyne College – Senior (Defense), Lowville, N.Y.
Billy Bitter, University of North Carolina – Junior (Attack), Stowe, VT
Sam Bradman, Salisbury University – Sophomore (Midfield), Canton, N.Y.
Shamel Bratton, University of Virginia – Junior (Midfield), Huntington Station, N.Y.
Jay Card, Hofstra University – Junior (Attack), Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Brian Carroll, University of Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Towson, MD

Grant Catalino, University of Maryland - Junior (Attack), Webster, NY Ken Clausen, University of Virginia – Senior (Defense), Downington, PA Ned Crotty, Duke University – Senior (Attack), New Vernon, N.J. Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University – Junior (Midfield), New Westminster, B.C., Canada Curtis Dickson, University of Delaware – Senior (Attack), Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada Brian Farrell, University of Maryland – Junior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD Ryan Flanagan, University of North Carolina – Junior (Defense), West Islip, N.Y. John Galloway, Syracuse University – Junior (Goalkeeper), Syracuse, N.Y. Jake Hagelin, Loyola University Maryland – Junior (Goalkeeper), Havre de Grace, MD Cody Jamieson, Syracuse University - Senior (Attack), Six Nations, Ontario, Canada Mark Manos, Drexel University - Sophomore (Goalkeeper), West Chester, PA Jack McBride, Princeton University - Junior (Attack), Madison, N.J. Jordan McBride, Stony Brook University – Junior (Attack), New Westminster, B.C. Parker McKee, Duke University – Senior (Defense), Old Greenwich, CT Rob Pannell, Cornell University – Sophomore (Attack), Smithtown, N.Y. Max Quinzani, Duke University - Senior (Attack), Duxbury, MA Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia – Sophomore (Attack), Baltimore, MD Jeremy Thompson, Syracuse University – Junior (Midfield), Nedrow, N.Y. Joel White, Syracuse University - Junior (Defense), Cortland, N.Y. RJ Wickham, United States Naval Academy - Sophomore (Goalkeeper), Penn Yan, N.Y.

Official Women's 2010 Tewaaraton Award Nominees

Sarah Bullard, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), Needham, MA Ally Carey, Vanderbilt University – Sophomore (Midfield), Bel Air, MD Kristen Carr, University of North Carolina - Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD Ali Deluca, University of Pennsylvania – Senior (Midfield), Hillsborough, N.J. Christina Dove, Syracuse University – Junior (Midfield), Bel Air, MD Katrina Dowd, Northwestern University - Senior (Midfield), Yorktown Heights, NY Kaitlin Duff, University of Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Bethesda, MD Hillary Fratzke, Towson University – Senior (Midfield), Centreville, MD Lindsay Gilbride, Duke University - Senior (Midfield), Alexandria, VA Kim Griffen, James Madison University – Senior (Midfield), Jarrettsville, MD Blake Hargest, Franklin & Marshall College – Senior (Attack), Cockeysville, MD Liz Hogan, Syracuse University – Junior (Goalkeeper), Victor, NY Alison Jaeger, The College of New Jersey – Junior (Midfield), Hampton, N.J. Karri Ellen Johnson, University of Maryland – Sophomore (Attack), Annapolis, MD Sarah Jonson, College of William & Mary – Junior (Defense), Dallas, TX Brittany Kalkstein, University of Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD Caitlin McFadden, University of Maryland - Senior (Midfield), Phoenix, MD Greta Meyer, Dartmouth College - Junior (Midfield), Denver, CO Logan Ripley, University of North Carolina – Senior (Goalkeeper), Earlysville, VA Jenn Russell, University of North Carolina – Senior (Midfield), Andover, MA Shannon Smith, Northwestern University – Sophomore (Midfield), West Babylon, N.Y. Danielle Spencer, Northwestern University – Senior (Midfield), Brighton, N.Y. Karissa Taylor, University of Maryland – Senior (Defense), Easton, MD Leigh Titus, Lock Haven University – Senior (Midfield), Towaco, N.J. Julie Wadland, Dartmouth College – Senior (Goalkeeper), Andover, MD

About The Tewaaraton Award:

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation talking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Trophy is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field. www.tewaaratonaward.org.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:

Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance's mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit www.gwsportsalliance.com.

-###-