

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## **BOB SCOTT TO RECEIVE 2013 SPIRIT OF TEWAARATON AWARD**

**WASHINGTON, November 20, 2012** – The Tewaaraton Foundation has named former Johns Hopkins University lacrosse player, coach, and athletic director Bob Scott as the recipient of the 2013 Spirit of Tewaaraton Award. Scott will be honored at the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony May 30, 2013, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The Spirit of Tewaaraton is presented to an individual who has contributed to the sport of lacrosse in a way that reflects the values and mission of The Tewaaraton Award. Past recipients include Dick Edell, Diane Geppi-Aikens, Sid Jamieson, A.B. "Buzzy" Krongard, Roy Simmons Jr., and Richie Moran.

"Bob is truly one of the greatest, and most highly respected, coaches of all-time. His impact on Johns Hopkins and the whole game of lacrosse is immeasurable," said Jeffrey Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaration Foundation. "He is among the elite who helped build the game of today."

Scott's coaching career began in 1955 after serving his country in the Army upon graduating from Hopkins in 1952. During the span of two decades, Scott captured seven National Titles in 1957, 1959, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970 and 1974. He won the F. Morris Touchstone Award being named USILA coach of the year three times in 1965, 1968 and 1972.

In 1974, he retired as head coach of the lacrosse team to become the Athletic Director at Johns Hopkins University, a position he held until 1995.

As a player, Scott was an All-American midfielder on the 1952 Johns Hopkins team and also played on the 1950 National Champion team. As a coach, Scott helped mold the future of Hopkins lacrosse by coaching his successor, head coach Henry Ciccarone, and JHU assistant coach Willie Scroggs. In 1976, Scott literally wrote the book by authoring *Lacrosse: Technique and Tradition*, which is still considered the ultimate guide to lacrosse.

Scott has been honored with induction into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1976 as coach and the Johns Hopkins University Athletic Hall of Fame in 1994 as coach and administrator. In addition, Hero's Inc. honored him as the College Coach of the Year in 1970 and 1971. A former member of the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Executive Committee, Treasurer of the United States Lacrosse Coaches Association, he was also a member of the NCAA Rules Committee and All-American Committee.

"Bob Scott is a name that is synonymous with lacrosse. He is representative of all that is good about our game," said Johns Hopkins head coach Dave Pietramala. "Coach Scott has been a dedicated teacher of the game, ambassador for the sport and mentor to so many. We applaud the Tewaaraton Foundation's decision to honor Bob Scott. This is a truly spectacular man that has had an impact on our sport that will still be felt in the years to come. Johns Hopkins is proud and has been blessed to be so closely associated with one of the truly great ones!"

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, visit <u>www.tewaaraton.com</u>. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at <u>www.facebook.com/Tewaaraton</u> and <u>www.twitter.com/tewaaraton</u>.

## **About The Tewaaraton Foundation**

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage and is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse. The Tewaaraton Foundation is a non-profit that defines the mission and upholds the integrity of the The Tewaaraton Award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit <a href="https://www.tewaaraton.com">www.tewaaraton.com</a>.

###

## **Media Contact:**

Sarah Aschenbach The Tewaaraton Foundation sarah@tewaaraton.com (202) 255-1485