## **BAUM AND SCHWARZMANN NAMED 2012 TEWAARATON AWARD WINNERS**

**WASHINGTON, May 31, 2012** – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced **Peter Baum** of Colgate University and **Katie Schwarzmann** of the University of Maryland as the winners of the 12th annual **Tewaaraton Award**, presented Thursday at the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States.

Colgate didn't enter the season on the national radar, but Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year Peter Baum ensured the Raiders quickly emerged as contenders. Baum took off after an early-season move to attack and terrorized defenses with his hybrid style. The nation's scoring leader broke eight school and conference records and led Colgate's second-ranked offense to a school-record 14 wins and its first-ever NCAA tournament victory.

The Portland, Ore., native is the first men's Tewaaraton finalist and winner from west of the Mississippi, and the first in Colgate history. The junior ended the season with 97 points (67 g, 30 a), tying Duke's Matt Danowski (2008) for the most ever by a men's Tewaaraton finalist.

The winner of the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award for Outstanding Player of the Year, Baum was also named to the USILA All-America first team and earned All-Patriot League, All-Patriot League Tournament (tournament-record 18 points) and Academic All-Patriot League honors. His 5.39 points per game and 3.72 goals per game both led the country.

Baum currently ranks second in Colgate and Patriot League history with 130 career goals and fifth in program history with 176 career points. His 67 goals and 97 points this season rank sixth and 13th all-time in NCAA history. He is the first Patriot League representative and the seventh attackman to receive the men's Tewaaraton Award.

A returning finalist in her junior season, Katie Schwarzmann continued to make her mark in Maryland's record book. The ACC Offensive Player of the Year was a threat between the lines and ruled the fast break. Schwarzmann finished 2012 first in the ACC and second nationally in goals (72), while ranking second on the Terrapins in points (94), ground balls (31), draw controls (52) and caused turnovers (17).

A three-time Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-American and three-time All-ACC performer, Schwarzmann was a member of the 2011-12 U.S. women's national team. The Sykesville, Md., native joins Jen Adams (2001) and Caitlyn McFadden (2010) as the Terps' Tewaaraton winners.

Schwarzmann scored in every game this season and boasted eight games with five or more points. Her 72 goals ranked fifth in Maryland single-season history. The ACC Championship Most Valuable Player tallied a tournament-record 11 goals in three games while leading the Terrapins to a fourth straight ACC crown. She was also named to the NCAA Championship All-Tournament team.

Schwarzmann is the fifth women's Tewaaraton winner in ACC history, the third women's winner from the state of Maryland and the eighth midfielder to receive the Tewaaraton award on the women's side.

"Every year, there are 10 worthy candidates and it is a credit to Peter and Katie that they have been recognized as the most outstanding players this year," said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. "We are thrilled to have them join this elite list of those who have received the Tewaaraton Award."

The five men's finalists were Baum, Duke University midfielder CJ Costabile, University of Massachusetts attackman Will Manny, Loyola University attackman Mike Sawyer and University of Virginia attackman Steele Stanwick.

The five women's finalists were Schwarzmann, University of Florida midfielder Brittany Dashiell, University of North Carolina attacker Becky Lynch, Northwestern University midfielder Taylor Thornton and Syracuse University attacker Michelle Tumolo.

Finalists were selected from a pool of 25 men's and 25 women's nominees. The selection committees are comprised of 12 men's and 10 women's current and former college coaches.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, visit <a href="www.tewaaraton.com">www.tewaaraton.com</a>. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at <a href="www.facebook.com/tewaaraton">www.facebook.com/tewaaraton</a> and <a href="www.twitter.com/tewaaraton">www.twitter.com/tewaaraton</a>.

## **About The Tewaaraton Foundation**

First presented in 2001 at the University Club of Washington DC, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Iroquois descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit <a href="https://www.tewaaraton.com">www.tewaaraton.com</a>.

## ###

## **Media Contact:**

Lane Errington
The Tewaaraton Foundation
lerrington@uslacrosse.org
(o) 410.235.6882 x 126
(c) 301.904.2022