

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TEWAARATON AWARD FINALISTS ADVANCE TO NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP WEEKEND

WASHINGTON, May 21, 2012 – Two men's and four women's Tewaaraton Award finalists will compete at the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse championships this weekend in Foxborough, Mass., and Stony Brook, N.Y., respectively.

The Tewaaraton Foundation will announce the award's 12th annual winners May 31 at the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

Men's finalists to reach championship weekend include C.J. Costabile (Duke) and Mike Sawyer (Loyola). Tewaaraton finalists are represented among each of the women's national semifinalists, including Brittany Dashiell (Florida), Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland), Taylor Thornton (Northwestern) and Michelle Tumolo (Syracuse).

Senior midfielder **C.J. Costabile** (New Fairfield, Conn.) picked up 15 groundballs and won 14-of-20 face offs as No. 3 Duke advanced to the final four with a convincing 17-6 win over Colgate, marking the program's sixth consecutive championship weekend appearance. With two ground balls in Saturday's semifinal game against Maryland, Costabile will become the nation's ground ball leader.

Junior attackman **Mike Sawyer** (Waxhaw, N.C.) scored his 51st goal of the season in Loyola's 10-9 victory over Denver as the top-seeded Greyhounds advanced to their first NCAA final four since 1998, where they will face No. 4 Notre Dame. With the goal, Sawyer set a Loyola single-season record, eclipsing the 50 scored by Tim Goettelmann in 2000.

The five men's finalists are Costabile, Sawyer, Colgate attackman Peter Baum, Massachusetts attackman Will Manny and Virginia attackman Steele Stanwick.

Junior midfielder **Brittany Dashiell** (Bel Air, Md.) led Florida's balanced offense with three goals and two assists in a 15-2 quarterfinal win over Penn State. The top-seeded Gators, who will next face No. 4 Syracuse, are the second program in the 30-year history of the NCAA women's lacrosse tournament to advance to the final four in only its third season.

Junior midfielder **Katie Schwarzmann** (Sykesville, Md.) racked up a career-high eight points (4 g, 4 a) in No. 3 Maryland's 17-11 defeat of in-state opponent Loyola while adding seven draw controls and playing suffocating defense on the Greyhound's top scorer, Marlee Paton. The Terrapins have reached the national semifinals in each of Schwarzmann's three seasons and four consecutive seasons overall.

Junior midfielder **Taylor Thornton** (Dallas, Texas) turned in a solid all-around performance in No. 2 Northwestern's 12-7 win over Duke, grabbing four ground balls, causing three turnovers and winning two draws to go along with one goal. Thornton and the Wildcats have advanced to their eighth consecutive national semifinals and will face Maryland in a rematch of the last two national title games.

Junior attacker **Michelle Tumolo** (Mullica Hill, N.J.) led No. 4 Syracuse to a thrilling 17-16 comeback win against North Carolina. Tumolo recorded a team-leading four goals and five points, including the game-

winning goal with five seconds remaining in regulation. Tumolo saved her best work for the game's final three minutes, rallying the Orange from a two-goal deficit and notching two goals, an assist and a crucial forced turnover. Tumolo and Syracuse will make their second final four appearance in three years.

The five women's finalists are Dashiell, Schwarzmann, Thornton, Tumolo and North Carolina attacker Becky Lynch.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. Finalists were selected from a pool of 25 men's and 25 women's nominees. The selection committees are comprised of 12 men's and 10 women's current and former college coaches.

Media credentials are available for the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in the News and Press section of <u>www.tewaaraton.com</u>. Credential requests are due by Tuesday, May 29.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, including bios of the finalists, or to attend the ceremony, visit <u>www.tewaaraton.com</u>. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at <u>www.facebook.com/tewaaraton</u> and <u>www.twitter.com/tewaaraton</u>.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

First presented in 2001 at the University Club of Washington DC, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Iroquois descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit www.tewaaraton.com.

#

Media Contact:

Lane Errington The Tewaaraton Foundation <u>lerrington@uslacrosse.org</u> (o) 410.235.6882 x 126 (c) 301.904.2022

Sarah Aschenbach The Tewaaraton Foundation (c) 202.255.1485