

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TEWAARATON AWARD NOMINEES ANNOUNCED

WASHINGTON, April 25, 2012 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2012 Tewaaraton Award men's and women's nominees, presented by Panama Jack. Twenty five women and 25 men were selected as nominees, from which the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finailists (5 women, 5 men) will be selected and honored May 31, 2012, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The men's award nominees include players from 20 schools, including 2011 winner Steele Stanwick (Virginia) and representatives from 18 of the current top 20 teams in the April 23 USILA Men's Division I Poll. Salisbury University's Sam Bradman the lone Division III representative. Five schools had two players nominated, including Johns Hopkins (Pierce Bassett, Tucker Durkin), Loyola (Scott Ratliff, Michael Sawyer), Princeton (Tyler Fiorito, Tom Schreiber), Massachusetts (Anthony Biscardi, Will Manny) and Virginia (Colin Briggs, Stanwick). Men's nominees are as follows:

Pierce Bassett, Goalie - Johns Hopkins University Peter Baum, Midfield - Colgate University Jesse Bernhardt, LSM - University of Maryland Anthony Biscardi, Midfield - University of Massachusetts Sam Bradman, Midfield - Salisbury University Colin Briggs, Midfield - University of Virginia CJ Costabile, Long Stick Midfield - Duke University Kevin Cunningham, Attack - Villanova University Tucker Durkin, Defense - Johns Hopkins University Billy Eisenreich, Attack - Bucknell University Tyler Fiorito, Goalie - Princeton University Marcus Holman, Attack/Midfield - University of North Carolina Austin Kaut, Goalie - Penn State University John Kemp, Goalie - University of Notre Dame Roy Lang, Midfield - Cornell University Will Manny, Attack - University of Massachusetts Kiel Matisz, Midfield - Robert Morris University Mark Matthews, Attack - University of Denver Brian Megill, Defense - Syracuse University Mason Poli, Defense - Bryant University Scott Ratliff, LSM - Loyola University Michael Sawyer, Attack - Loyola University Tom Schreiber, Midfield - Princeton University Steele Stanwick, Attack - University of Virginia Garrett Thul, Attack - United States Military Academy

The women's award nominees include players from 17 schools, including 2011 winner Shannon Smith (Northwestern) and representatives from 16 of the current top 20 teams in the April 24 IWLCA Division I

Poll. Maryland (Kari Ellen Johnson, Iliana Sanza, Katie Schwarzmann) and North Carolina (Kara Cannizzaro, Becky Lynch, Laura Zimmerman) led all schools with three nominees each. Schwarzmann and Smith have been nominated for a second straight year.

Dana Cahill, Goalie - Penn State University Kara Cannizzaro, Midfield - University of North Carolina Ally Carev, Midfield - Vanderbilt University Kitty Cullen, Attack - University of Florida Brittany Dashiell, Midfield - University of Florida Emma Hamm, Attack - Duke University Kristin Igoe, Midfield - Boston College Karri Ellen Johnson, Attack - University of Maryland Becky Lynch, Attack - University of North Carolina Alayna Markwordt, Attack - Ohio State University Alyssa Murray, Attack - Syracuse University Josie Owen, Attack - University of Virginia Marlee Paton, Midfield - Loyola University Sarah Plumb, Midfield - Dartmouth College Iliana Sanza, Defense - University of Maryland Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield - University of Maryland Shannon Smith, Midfield - Northwestern University Jessi Steinberg, Attack - Cormell University Maggie Tamasitis, Attack - University of Notre Dame Mary Teeters, Goalie - Towson University Sophia Thomas, Midfield - Georgetown University Taylor Thornton, Defense - Northwestern University Michelle Tumolo, Attack - Syracuse University Kim Wenger, Midfield - Duke University Laura Zimmerman, Midfield - University of North Carolina

Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced May 10 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men's and women's watch lists, were announced Feb. 15 with additions made March 20 and April 3 and were ultimately comprised of 82 men's players and 57 women's players.

"We congratulate these 50 elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year's finalists next month." The selection committees are comprised of 12 men's and ten women's current and former coaches.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, please visit <u>www.tewaaraton.com</u>. Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at <u>www.facebook.com/Tewaaraton</u> and <u>www.twitter.com/tewaaraton</u>.

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Iroquois descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit www.tewaaraton.com.

About Panama Jack

Panama Jack is an international company that has built a powerful brand and loyal following with product offerings synonymous with a carefree beach lifestyle. Its offerings include suncare products, sunglasses, beach apparel, sandals and shoes, hats, jewelry, and beach chairs and umbrellas. Panama Jack added home furnishings to its product offerings in 2011, introducing its Home Collection and Outdoor Collection that allow people to live the Panama Jack lifestyle at home. The company also launched branded luggage and beach-cruiser bicycles in 2010, as well as opening the first of several Panama Jack retail stores at top travel destinations. Founded in 1974, Panama Jack is based in Orlando, FL. To learn more, please visit www.panamajack.com.

#

Media Contact:

Sarah Aschenbach The Tewaaraton Foundation sarahaschenbach@aol.com 202.255.1485