



For Immediate Release April 18, 2011

Contact: Jennifer Schiller Greater Washington Sports Alliance 202-407-8576 jschiller@gwsportsalliance.com

2011 TEWAARATON NOMINEES ANNOUNCED *Watch list narrowed to 25 male and 24 female nominees*

Washington, D.C. – With lacrosse season now in full swing, the 2011 Tewaaraton Award is pleased to announce this year's nominees. Awarded to the top male and female collegiate lacrosse player, the Tewaaraton award is the nation's pre-eminent collegiate lacrosse accolade.

A watch list which began with over 100 names has been whittled down to 25 males and 24 females. This year's nominees represent 23 different schools and some of the country's top lacrosse programs. Five male and five female finalists will be selected from the nominees. Finalists will be invited to the award ceremony in June where a male and a female winner will be honored.

"In now its 11th year, the Tewaaraton Award continues to establish itself as the preeminent collegiate lacrosse honor," said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. "This year's field is one of the best yet, and our selection committees have done a tremendous job sorting through the brightest talent in the college lacrosse world. We are looking forward to another exciting finish to the lacrosse season and seeing what the nation's best players have to offer."

The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at <u>www.TewaaratonAward.org</u>. Fans can also follow the Tewaaraton Award on Facebook for daily updates and news.

Official Men's 2011 Tewaaraton Nominees

Peter Baum, Colgate University - Sophomore (Midfield), Portland, Ore. Billv Bitter, University of North Carolina – Senior (Attack), Manhasset, N.Y. Jeremy Boltus, United States Military Academy - Senior (Attack), Baldwinsville, N.Y. Zach Brenneman, University of Notre Dame – Senior (Midfield), East Hampton, N.Y. Jay Card, Hofstra University - Senior (Attack), Caledon, Ontario, Canada Grant Catalino, University of Maryland – Senior (Attack), Webster, N.Y. C.J. Costabile, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), New Fairfield, Conn. Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University - Senior (Midfield), New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada David Earl, University of Notre Dame - Senior (Midfield), Simsbury, Conn. Brian Farrell, University of Maryland – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, Md. John Galloway, Syracuse University - Senior (Goalkeeper), Syracuse, N.Y. D.J. Hessler, Tufts University - Senior (Attack), Monkton, Md. Zach Howell, Duke University - Senior (Attack), Huntington, N.Y. Shayne Jackson, Limestone College - Junior (Attack), Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada Brian Karalunas, Villanova University – Senior (Defense), Dewitt, N.Y. Stephen Keogh, Syracuse University – Senior (Attack), Toronto, Ontario, Canada John Lade, Syracuse University – Senior (Defense), Randolph, N.J. Rob Pannell, Cornell University – Junior (Attack), Smithtown, N.Y. John Ranagan, Johns Hopkins University – Sophomore (Midfield), Yorktown, N.Y. Adam Rand, Stony Brook University - Senior (Midfield), Niantic, Conn. Kevin Ridgway, University of Notre Dame - Senior (Defense), Kensington, Md. Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia – Junior (Attack), Baltimore, Md. Garret Thul, United States Military Academy – Sophomore (Attack), Flemington, N.J. Joel White, Syracuse University – Senior (Midfield), Cortland, N.Y. Ryan Young, University of Maryland – Senior (Attack), Manhasset, N.Y.

Official Women's 2011 Tewaaraton Nominees

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison University - Sophomore (Attack), Jarrettsville, Md. Erin Brennan, University of Pennsylvania – Junior (Attack), Garden City, N.Y. Ally Carey, Vanderbilt University – Junior (Midfield), Bel Air, Md. Kitty Cullen, University of Florida - Sophomore (Midfield), Rockville, Md. Brittany Dipper, University of Maryland – Junior (Goalkeeper), Clarksboro, N.J. Corey Donohoe, University of North Carolina – Senior (Attack), Jarrettsville, Md. Liz Downs, University of Virginia – Senior (Defense), Alexandria, Va. Leslie Foard, Stanford University – Senior (Midfield), Cincinnati, Ohio Taylor Frink, University of Albany – Senior (Attack), Baldwinsville, N.Y. Grace Gavin, Loyola University, Maryland - Senior (Attack), Baltimore, Md. Grace Golden, William and Mary – Senior (Midfield), Manhasset, N.Y. Emma Hamm, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), Wayne, Pa. Mia Hurrin, University of North Carolina - Senior (Defense), Alexandria, Va. Karri Ellen Johnson, University of Maryland – Junior (Attack), Annapolis, Md. Sarah Jonson, William and Mary – Senior (Defense), Dallas, Texas Christie Kaestner, Duke University – Senior (Attack), Trappe, Md. Sarah Mollison, University of Maryland - Senior (Attack), Melbourne, Australia Lauren Schmidt, Stanford University – Senior (Midfield), Bay Shore, N.Y. Katie Schwarzmann, University of Maryland – Sophomore (Midfield), Sykesville, Md. Shannon Smith, Northwestern University – Junior (Midfield), West Babylon, N.Y. Kerry Stoothoff, Loyola University, Maryland – Junior (Goalkeeper), Blue Point, N.Y. Kat Thomas, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), Latham, N.Y. Taylor Thornton, Northwestern University - Sophomore (Defense), Dallas, Texas Laura Zimmerman, University of North Carolina – Junior (Midfield), Syracuse, N.Y.

About The Tewaaraton Award:

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation talking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:

Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance's mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit <u>www.gwsportsalliance.com</u>.

-###-